Battery Tender - Yamaha R3 Forum
User Tag List

1Likes

post #1 of 11 Old 11-28-2016, 09:55 AM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Battery Tender

It's time to put the bike away for the season. This is my first time winterizing a bike. I have done a fresh oil change, fuel stabilizer, covered it, and put it on stands.
I am going to be purchasing a battery tender, but wasn't sure which one you guys recommend. Is it fine if i get the Deltran "junior" 12v 0.75A charger? The junior is half the price, but half the amps in comparison to the "plus" model.
Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 Old 11-28-2016, 10:00 AM

Quoted: 6 Post(s)
I use the Battery Tender Junior 12V. It does a fairly decent job imo, but that's me. we don't tend to have very cold winters down in FL.
Gizmo likes this.
post #3 of 11 Old 11-28-2016, 10:36 AM Thread Starter

Quote:
Originally Posted by red_86 View Post
I use the Battery Tender Junior 12V. It does a fairly decent job imo, but that's me. we don't tend to have very cold winters down in FL.
You don't "tend" to have very cold winters in Florida....pun "intended"? LOL!
I will be storing my bike in an underground heated garage and bring battery into the apartment on the tender. I will go with the junior.
thanks!

post #4 of 11 Old 11-28-2016, 11:41 AM

Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
The only difference between the JR and the larger one is the charging speed. If your just float charging the battery then the JR will be fine charging at 750mA.

If you're already bringing the battery inside you shouldn't need a tender. Last year I left my battery on the tender all winter and it killed the battery capacity, had to buy a whole new battery. Standard lead acid batteries have a memory, if it is only depleted to 95% and then charged back full a bunch of times then the battery will start to lose it's full capacity.