User Tag List

1Likes
  • 1 Post By cwick2000

post #1 of 7 Old 03-03-2017, 04:17 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
R3 Engine Swap For Track Bike

Hey, I'm a student technician and when I graduate I want to build performance race vehicles and start a company based around it. So I picked the R3 as a starter bike to work with that I could build as a pure track bike and then my brother could race it after he goes through racing classes. Now my question is does anyone think that a Yamaha Banshee 350 engine would fit into the frame of a newer R3? If so I could have an air cold parallel twin 2 stroke and save weight by not having to have all of the electrical start equipment on the bike. Plus the sound would definitely be a good bonus considering my reasoning behind racing is for the experience and to impress potential customers. ?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 Old 03-03-2017, 06:09 PM

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 142 Post(s)
That doesn't sound like that great of an idea. Even though it's a 2-stroke engine they're pretty low on power, at least stock. They're only rated for about 37-39 hp, which is right on par with the R3...except for it's a 2-stroke, so it won't make **** for power until it gets really high in the rev range. It'll also sound annoying and will require a lot more maintenance. Most of us would rather have a reliable race bike even if we have to sacrifice a few pounds. On top of that, it will instantly become illegal for the majority of classes at most club racing organizations. In CCS, I can only think of 1 class off the top of my head that I think you could race in if you do an engine swap like that. Maybe 2 if you get some special permission, but most won't allow it. You'd be shooting yourself in the foot without gaining anything.