post #1 of 3 Old 02-03-2017, 07:21 AM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Garage
New Zealand New R3

Hi folks,

I am new to the bike scene . . .again.
Wait for it, this is going to be a shitty introduction and you may laugh . . at me lol.

I took a break from Scuba Diving and started riding in 2008/10?. But then riding got too expensive and so I went back to Scuba Diving. Now, my health isn't that great and I've returned o the 2 wheeled horse.

I was seriously looking at starting back up with my ideal dream bike, the Daytona 675. BUT alas, I thought it would be best to start low, again, and start with a 200-300cc class bike.

Yup, you guessed it, I went with Yamaha.
At first, I was going to get the street fighter version, the MT-03. But then I change my mind, my heart is more into the fairing sports version of road bikes. So the R3 was the choice. Awesome wee bike it is.
Thats until after 2 hours straight on the bike and the arse starts complaining and the legs need to be stretched out.

I purchased a brand new R3 from the show room floor, I rode it out with only 2k on the clock. Felt really excited. I never had anything like this brand new. It was my baby. "Was" being the operative word.

After not even two days wearing in the motor (keeping under the 7k RPM limit), the bike started to auto rev at 5000RPM. Anything I tried never worked. From letting the bike rest for a few minutes to flicking the wrist to rev the bike above 5k RPM.

Anyways, long story short, the dealer that I purchased the bike from never heard of this issue before. I was stuck in Auckland with a faulty bike with next to nothing lining my wallet for accomodation and it was the weekend of Auckland's anniversary.

So, the only option was to make my way back home south. Travel distance? 420+/- Kilometers.

This was going to be tedious at best.
When ever I stopped at red lights or had to give way to on coming traffic, I couldn't have the bike resting in neutral.