What does these screws do on the throttle bodies of the r3? - Yamaha R3 Forum
User Tag List

 2Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 Old 02-13-2017, 01:09 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
What does these screws do on the throttle bodies of the r3?

What does these screws do on the throttle bodies of the r3?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	s-l1600.jpg
Views:	40
Size:	166.1 KB
ID:	49217  
dexter is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 Old 02-13-2017, 02:44 PM
Senior Member
 
Maverick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Alberta
Posts: 242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Bypass air.

Dont touch them or you'll have to resync the throttle body assembly.

Mav
Maverick is offline  
post #3 of 13 Old 02-13-2017, 02:55 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Is there a performance gain by syncing the throttle bodies?
dexter is offline  
 
post #4 of 13 Old 02-13-2017, 04:55 PM
Senior Member
 
Maverick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Alberta
Posts: 242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by dexter View Post
Is there a performance gain by syncing the throttle bodies?
Yes absolutely... but only if your throttle body isnt sync'd properly already.

They "should" be sync'd from the factory, but nothing is perfect off the production line, theres bound to be ones out there that would require a slight adjustment. It requires an expensive shop tool to do properly but if you look around on here and elsewhere you can find DIY instructions on how to make the tool.

Mav
Maverick is offline  
post #5 of 13 Old 02-13-2017, 05:04 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
I can make the diy tool easy. The problem is how would I know how much to turn the screw to begin with?
dexter is offline  
post #6 of 13 Old 02-14-2017, 12:27 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Does adjustong these screws to adjust the idling speed? because I turned them 2.5 turns from stock 1.5 turns and still, it idles the same.
dexter is offline  
post #7 of 13 Old 02-14-2017, 01:02 PM
Moderator
 
xorbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Bay Area / Central Valley, CA, USA
Posts: 858
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 296 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by dexter View Post
Does adjustong these screws to adjust the idling speed? because I turned them 2.5 turns from stock 1.5 turns and still, it idles the same.
If you follow the throttle cable to the rotating assembly on the bike, you can see a set screw that controls where the throttle idle is. It's surgically tiny, and a massive pita to adjust. And the bike has ISC so the ECU is looking for idle conditions, so it'll get upset if you play with the set screw too much.

oh hai, yo
xorbe is online now  
post #8 of 13 Old 02-14-2017, 03:40 PM
Senior Member
 
Maverick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Alberta
Posts: 242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by dexter View Post
Does adjustong these screws to adjust the idling speed? because I turned them 2.5 turns from stock 1.5 turns and still, it idles the same.
Idle speed is controlled electronically through the ISC (Idle speed control) and can only be adjusted with a Factory Yamaha diagnostic tool. The screw Xorbe described Im guessing is a Throttle Stop Screw. Not idle adjustment. Hence why when you adjust it, the idle doesnt change because the ISC is compensating for the change you made to the throttle stop position. Once you adjust the screw past where the ISC can compensate you will start throwing codes and possibly run rough/not at all/lean etc.

If you fiddled with the Bypass air screws you WILL HAVE to resync your throttle body.

Service manual states to thread them in all the way to seated position then begin re-sync procedure.

On anything with electronic fuel injection, if its running fine, dont touch it. Unless you have the diagnostic equipment to track the changes you'll be going around in circles and likely making running conditions worse.
ThumperRider and sbk1198 like this.

Mav
Maverick is offline  
post #9 of 13 Old 02-15-2017, 12:23 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
I am trying to fix the engine not starting at first time after turning off after a ride. I have a diy manometer. Do I need to sync at idle or at a specific rpm? That's all I need to know.
dexter is offline  
post #10 of 13 Old 02-15-2017, 11:03 AM
Senior Member
 
Maverick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Alberta
Posts: 242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by dexter View Post
I am trying to fix the engine not starting at first time after turning off after a ride. I have a diy manometer. Do I need to sync at idle or at a specific rpm? That's all I need to know.
Idle

Throttle Body Sync

Mav
Maverick is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Yamaha R3 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



  Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
R6 throttle tube fits jbluetooth Yamaha R3 Track Discussions 104 02-07-2017 06:53 PM
Rearsets, RH clipon, brake lever, throttle tube m1yeh Yamaha R3 Parts For sale 3 06-22-2016 12:18 PM
Average-ish size hands and you can't blip the throttle while downshifting. Help? giff74 Yamaha R3 General Discussion 13 06-07-2016 07:38 AM
R6 Throttle Tube gseeger Exhaust & Fuel Delivery 16 05-27-2016 06:25 PM
Eliminate the Progressive Throttle? gseeger Exhaust & Fuel Delivery 40 03-08-2016 04:38 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off