• 1 Post By Norton-Motorsports.com
  • 1 Post By TAoramaR3

post #1 of 5 Old 11-06-2016, 08:37 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Bobby's R3 race bike build

Warning, long post!
My name is Bobby and I am 48 yrs old. I decided to start racing for the first time in my life, with my only experience with motorcycles being 11 years of street riding and an occasional track day as a novice. In May, I took my street bike a GSX-S750 and attended Ed Bargy Racing School in Talladega Grand Prix. I graduated and looked forward to starting to race!

Now to choose a bike to race! After extensive consideration, I decide the Yamaha R3 would make the perfect race bike. I purchased the bike in July 16í. My plan was to build the bike in the off season and start in 17í Well, that was the planÖ.

As I made arrangements to pick up the bike, I had already been researching aftermarket parts online and was excited to start the build. I looked at quite a few sites but the one that stood out from the rest was yamahar3racing.com. As I looked over the site, it was filled with great information about the products that he had tried and tested himself. He not only showed the results of the test but he openly showed them for everyone else, so that they could come up with their own conclusion. His site was helpful to people like myself as well as the seasoned racer.
I initially contacted yamahar3racing.com via email to discuss my build, but it didnít take long and I was on the phone discussing the details. I had plenty of questions and Jesse answered all of them and educating me as we went. We finally came up with a build list and with the help of a shop my build began.