Yamaha R3 Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone, just got a Electric Teal R3 on Saturday! I got the bike for my wife who has never drove a motorcycle or a standard transmission, so this will be fun. She rides with me on my MT07 and decided she needed something for herself so this is where we decided to start. Over the course of the next few months I'll be teaching her from 0 experience to riding with me and the boys. We already ordered sliders for her bike and will be installing them as soon as they come in! I'll be documenting everything on our new YouTube channel, as well as asking questions here as I'm new to supersports.

Things we've ordered thus far
-TST slider package
-R6 throttle tube

Things I plan to order soon
  • Project SC Exhaust
  • Tune

If you got any experience/suggestions I'm all ears.
IMG_20210109_162014_034.jpg

·
Registered
267 Posts
Nice bike, I thought it looked pretty ugly in the Yamaha adverts but it doesn't look to bad in that photo!

Those first mods are perfect. I'd suggest getting a tail tidy to get rid of the horrible rear fender.

For training tips, I'd suggest teaching her how to rev match. It's best to learn this early on so you don't have to unlearn any bad gear changing techniques.

·
Registered
130 Posts
If only the forum would give us a topic to discuss Rider & Road Safety (as I outlined in the R3-Forums 2021 topic restructuring), we could be sharing notes.

It's a good time to teach the lady how to wrench, too.
  • Adjust the headlights to her preference
  • Check/change oil & oil filter change
  • Air filter change
  • Chain clean & adjust
    • This vehicle has a drive chain with small rubber O-rings between each side plate. Steam cleaning, high-pressure washing, certain solvents, and the use of a coarse brush can damage these O-rings.
    • While you're cleaning the drive sprocket, check the torque (54 ft-lbs) once in a few thousand miles