Yamaha R3 Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So my first bike is 20 miles old, and its developing an issue after it warms up. Once warm I'll come to a stop [kickstand is up] and when I go to engage 1st gear the clutch feels like it has zero slip leading to the clutch dropping, bike lurching into a stall. The only way to take off is to give it some throttle which is unnerving cause the engagement is sudden no matter how slow I move the clutch [especially for a new rider]. At first I thought it was me [yes I am still learning the clutch] , but if it was why do I have no issues until it warms up? Any ideas, so far my thoughts are a sticky clutch [no idea how to fix] or poor idle speed. Engine oil level is good. After the latest event got it going again by pushing it 10 feet [thought the tiny hill I was on was causing an issue]. After pushing it, it started up and shifted like a champ again???

·
Registered
358 Posts
So my first bike is 20 miles old, and its developing an issue after it warms up. Once warm I'll come to a stop [kickstand is up] and when I go to engage 1st gear the clutch feels like it has zero slip leading to the clutch dropping, bike lurching into a stall. The only way to take off is to give it some throttle which is unnerving cause the engagement is sudden no matter how slow I move the clutch [especially for a new rider]. At first I thought it was me [yes I am still learning the clutch] , but if it was why do I have no issues until it warms up? Any ideas, so far my thoughts are a sticky clutch [no idea how to fix] or poor idle speed. Engine oil level is good. After the latest event got it going again by pushing it 10 feet [thought the tiny hill I was on was causing an issue]. After pushing it, it started up and shifted like a champ again???