Yamaha R3 Forums banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Looking for an exhaust to replace my stock. Would like to know if i were to run a Akrapovic full race exhaust, is it necessary for any tuning after installation or is it a install and ride. Any new york riders out here? If yes do you know if this full exhaust would be legal on the streets? thanks in advance.

·
Registered
169 Posts
Tuning wouldn't be absolutely necessary but extremely recommended.

It will probably run lean when you put it on. If you wait a couple days, I'm putting mine on the dyno (3rd August) and I will make a post:)

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
That would be awesome. Did you keep the stock o2 sensor as well and do you think there is anything else i might need to know to install the exhaust or after installation. Im a newbie to all this kind of stuff.

·
Registered
22 Posts
Full akrapovic is easy to install. If you are unfamiliar this this work just follow the steps in the instructions provided, or watch some you tube videos. There will certainly be a video of an akro going on an r3

I didn't tune mine but I really wish I had.

You'll also have to get a block off plate if youre going to dyno it

Sent from my E6653 using Tapatalk

·
Registered
169 Posts
That would be awesome. Did you keep the stock o2 sensor as well and do you think there is anything else i might need to know to install the exhaust or after installation. Im a newbie to all this kind of stuff.

Well I have a PCV installed and it has an O2 eliminator plug, so to my knowledge the stock O2 sensor is useless for me.

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·