Yamaha R3 Forums banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I don't really know what else I can say that Deddie hasn't said about suspension upgrades (and the Penske shock), but I'd like to mention my first impressions about the suspension combination I chose from Jesse at yamahaR3racing.com.

Super-quick background: About 230 pounds in gear, so I was really deep in the suspension travel just sitting on the bike. The stock suspension from what I could gather would pretty much bottom out when I tried to really get on it. I am not a pro rider, don't get to race, etc. Just someone who is enjoying getting back into motorcycling after a 4 year hiatus with the goal of getting to a few track days every riding season. After reading what people found made the biggest improvement to their riding enjoyment suspension came up again and again. So, like Deddie I started making inquiries and Jesse from yamahaR3racing.com worked with me to get my setup: Penske rear shock and traxxion dynamics fork spring and emulator kit. Both dialed in for my rider weight and riding style/goals.

(I'll review Jesse's awesome advice and customer service soon and in his vendor section, but I have to get up super early for work)

Today was my first ride with this suspension setup. Absolute night and day difference for me versus stock! Road bumps are a little more "jarring" but have less peak "whomp!" than stock. The stability tradeoff that you can feel even in a straight line (subjectively, I felt less battered by cross-winds or vehicle turbulence) more than compensates for the stiffer ride. It also feels "faster" on the turn in and "lighter" doing S-turn transitions. I notice I go slightly faster through turns with less lean angle and thanks to the stability more confidence than I did on the stock suspension.