Yamaha R3 Forums banner

Anyone use ridesmart in Texas?

4K views 15 replies 8 participants last post by  SpitFire500 
#1 ·
Has anyone used ridesmart.info in Texas for a first time track day?

I'm interested in my first track day training and I'm located in central Texas.

What are my options?

#3 ·
Groups 1 and 2 (both 2A and 2B) have class between each session.

Ridesmart is acceptable. Other than going to Harris Hill, they are your only option in the area to do lots of track days. CSS comes to COTA in August and Nate Kern will probably come to COTA again soon, but other than that, RS is your choice. You will lose time and the track will feel crowded, but they do a decent job. Some of the instructors are so-so.

I've ridden with them quite a bit and will be with them many times this year. So even though I have some criticisms of the way their organization runs I still go back.

#4 ·
Ive been doing trackdays with RS for pass three years and have enjoyed it everytime.. People u meet at the track are what makes it even better for me, most of my buddies now i met thru rs so thats why i enjoy it. Level one is pretty crowded but once u move to 2 and 3 its not bad at all.

#8 ·
COTA is a world class facility. Best track in the states, period. The math adds up, RS really doesn't make much money at COTA but having it on the roster creates excitement so it's a smart move to have.

COTA is a real blast. I'll be there again next weekend. But the other tracks bring a lot to the table as well. And, to be honest, I'm not sure I'd take my R3 to COTA.

#6 · (Edited)