Yamaha R3 Forums banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone,

I've been riding for about 5 years and I am currently riding a 2007 CBR600RR. I have no intention of ever selling my CBR600RR however I know I'm not pushing it to its higher potential. I use the bike daily for commuting in a small city/rural area to and from work and I love taking road trips with it. lately, I've been paying attention to how my tires are wearing and how my 600RR develops flat spots on the tires from my commute. My cousin is just about to pick up a 2022 60th anniversary moto GP R3 in 2 weeks. This has had me checking out the Yamaha R3 up and down and I'm seriously considering buying a new Yamaha R3. I'm thinking a Yamaha R3 would be the perfect commuter/occasional road trip bike with the odd track day here and there to help improve my riding ability thus allowing my CBR600RR to be my weekend warrior.

Are there any 600 riders out there who have done this?
If you have done this are there any mods you would recommend?
What can I expect going from a 600 to a 300?

I'd like to improve my cornering so the upgrade I've been thinking about the most is going from the stock 110 front tire to a 120 and from the stock 140 rear tire to a 150 or 160. But I have no clue what that will do to the R3. I also hear the R6 throttle tube upgrade is something people really like to do to the R3, Why is that? Thanks for taking the time to give me your advice!

·
Registered
306 Posts
Hi there, I've got a Street Triple R 675 and I'm on my second R3.

I brought the R3 as a commuter to keep the mileage off of the Street Triple, then started working from home, so turned the R3 into my track bike.

I'd leave the tyres at their stock sizes if I were you. The benefits of the original sizes is greater agility compared to larger bikes, and in my opinion, by putting wider tyres on, you'll only make the handling worse.