Yamaha R3 Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi I’m New to the r3, even though I have owned it since new. I have a 2016 Movistar edition. Stock standard. It now has about 5500 kms on the odo.
I think it’s a great bike, but think there’s scope for improvement.
The brakes aren’t great. The suspension is soft. I run 38 psi front and rear tire. I’m a confident rider but don’t push my luck. I like the torque but it only really kicks in at 7k upwards. Low end sucks. I haven’t doubled yet so cannot comment about putting another 80kg on the back.
The clock doesn’t keep the time. And I find the oil light flashes. I only use genuine yamaha oil and filters.
Does anyone have any ideas how to make this bike a little more predictable without going crazy spending thousands on aftermarket parts. I’m not looking for a loud slip on bu there’s definitely restriction from the exhaust and it’s obviously for emission control.
many ideas would be helpful from your experience.
Thanks.

·
Registered
164 Posts
To make it "predictable" you will have to spend a thousand on suspension at least. However the question is do you really need it? If you aren't keeping the bike, don't do it. Larger displacement motorcycles have better suspension in stock if you decide to upgrade to one soon and that extra thousand dollars will do you nicely. I personally can justify suspension upgrade if you are planning taking it to the track. As for the brakes, I don't believe you can make brakes better with little investment, maybe only slightly better by swapping stock brake pads to sintered ones. Braided brakes lines won't do much good either, it's a waste of money. Also this bike will not comfortably handle a passenger. It will do the job though, transporting you both from point A to point B but that would be a very sloppy job. I stopped taking passengers after a few rides and removed passenger footpegs.