Yamaha R3 Forums banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
71 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Interested to know what approach you guys use when washing and polishing your bike. Do you use any specific products or brands , or do you just use the traditional soap and water approach and then oil and lubricate the necessary areas.

·
Registered
33 Posts
*just want to piggy back this post if thats ok

In regards to washing the matte grey r3 because ive heard u need to take specific care etc

·
Registered
121 Posts
I've been using S100 for many years. You just spray it on and immediately rinse it off with a hose. It is amazing! Takes all the dirt, oil, bugs and whatever right off. Safe for all surfaces that I've used it on. Afterwards a quick towel off and lube the chain and I'm ready to go.

Marc

·
Registered
21 Posts
I would say be careful i got water around my tank and it got by the ignition and the key wouldn't go in anymore afterwards ..

·
Registered
199 Posts
I use Meguiars Quik Wax. Just spray and wipe really, easy to use and R3 fairings aren't exactly time consuming to clean.

·
Registered
33 Posts
Trying to figure out how to wash my bike without water since it's illegal to use a hose to wash a car or bike and if I take it to those manual places the bike would be hot so I would have to wait for the bike to cool down and they aren't the safest to wait around in. So I'm just lost as to what to do.

·
Registered
140 Posts
Your bike should be fine to wash while hot, after all bikes are designed to be used in the rain. If components that got hot cracked every time you rode in the rain it wouldnt be a very good bike now wouldnt it?

·
Premium Member
971 Posts
Trying to figure out how to wash my bike without water since it's illegal to use a hose to wash a car or bike and if I take it to those manual places the bike would be hot so I would have to wait for the bike to cool down and they aren't the safest to wait around in. So I'm just lost as to what to do.