Yamaha R3 Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey im new to riding and got my first bike on Monday which happens to be an r3. I rode it around for about 15 miles then hopped onto the fwy because I didn't want a 20min ride home to be a 45 min ride. I went 65 and kept progressing to go faster (first time ever riding on the streets and fwy) which I kept it steady around 75-80. Could this have messed up the bikes break in period? I was too excited and didn't think about the break in period. Im a lost child moving into the bikers world. Any suggestions on what I should do now? Soon ill be commuting to school which requires more fwy riding. Thanks in advance.

·
Super Moderator
1,562 Posts
Hey im new to riding and got my first bike on Monday which happens to be an r3. I rode it around for about 15 miles then hopped onto the fwy because I didn't want a 20min ride home to be a 45 min ride. I went 65 and kept progressing to go faster (first time ever riding on the streets and fwy) which I kept it steady around 75-80. Could this have messed up the bikes break in period? I was too excited and didn't think about the break in period. Im a lost child moving into the bikers world. Any suggestions on what I should do now? Soon ill be commuting to school which requires more fwy riding. Thanks in advance.
Break-in opinions are aplenty around here and many have just ridden hard from day one with satisfactory results and no loss of reliability. Personally, I followed the manual's recommendations.

You're fine... just relax. Try your best to keep it below 7-8krpms and fluctuate your speed where you can, if you plan on following the manual for the proper break-in of the motor.

On a side note, I have a 50 mile commute to work which is around 45 minutes on the freeway.
I purposely take back roads and enjoy the ride and embrace the fact that it makes my ride home 90 minutes.

Enjoy the ride!

·
Registered
84 Posts