Yamaha R3 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 77 Posts

·
Registered
78 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey Guys,
Just took the YCRS course and didn't get on the R3, despite multiple opportunities. I'm a novice, and finding that I'm not using the power of the 600's yet, so I need to drop down to a smaller displacement bike. I'm looking at the Ninja 400, but primarily at the R3, both a 2018 (cheaper), a 2019, as well as a Honda CBR300R (2018).
After all I have read, I really can't decide with what to go with. I have always been a Honda guy at heart, so I am leaning toward it. At this stage, horsepower is not something that I need. Rather, I need to focus on cornering and trailbraking, and scanning ahead.
There are great deals on 2018's right now, and my best deal is on a 2018 Yamaha R3, followed by a CBR300R at $400 more. The 2019 R3 is another $1000.
1) Is the 2019 R3 that much better than the previous generation? And would it make that much difference to me as a novice? I know the front forks are stiffer, and the rear is stiffer too, with more damping adjustment. If it is that much better, perhaps it is worth the extra $1400, if it means not adding a fork cartridge, changing brakes and tires. I am 6 foot, 200lbs, if that helps.
2) I would be looking at swapping out the bias ply tires on the 2018 R3 for track duty. Would I be doing the same with the stock tires on the 2019 anyway?
3) Ari Henning and others have said that the stock brakes and suspension work extremely well on the Honda, making it a great handling bike. If so, does this mean I could go with the Honda and forget about upgrades, other than tires?
4) Does the Ninja handle as well as the R3? I do not need Ninja horsepower. I sat on it and it felt fine, but not noticeably bigger than the R3 or CBR to me, anyway.
I know there will be Yamaha bias here, but somehow, good advice will emerge!
Thanks,
J

·
Registered
327 Posts