Yamaha R3 Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
346 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
So this thread will be for individuals who have an oh **** moment while installing levers. Tonight I went to install my levers from Jesse (Thanks Jesse!!) and noticed it wasn't lining up right. I gave Jesse a call just to confirm it wasn't supposed to behave like that (and I'm a motorcycle noob since this is my 1st). He confirmed it shouldn't line up the way it was with the sensor (the machined "block" that contacts the sensor was pushed too far backwards).

What would happen is when I pulled the lever back almost all the way or all the way to the handlebar/grip and release the lever slowly the metal arm/block that is supposed to push on the face of the plastic sensor arm wouldn't engage the face of the plastic sensor. It would engage the back side of the sensor (pointing towards the rear wheel) then when letting the lever go would push the arm forward (towards the front wheel) instead of inward (toward the sensor and gastank). This was putting the force perpendicular to the plastic sensor arm instead of pushing the arm inwards, if I wasn't paying attention the plastic sensor arm would've snapped off.

So what is the cause? My clutch lever was replaced by a dealer before I bought my bike with 67 miles. Either when the bike had whatever problem to break the lever (they claim it wasn't dropped, no fairing damage or anything, my guess it was dropped at a stop breaking the lever) or when they replaced the lever they damaged the sensor in the process. The housing of the sensor itself was separating and almost coming into two pieces without even trying. Due to the damage on the housing it was causing the housing to flex and incorrectly line up with my lever instead of where it should be causing the lever to incorrectly contact the sensor arm.