Yamaha R3 Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have more than 8 years of riding experience but just started riding in U.S about 2 weeks. In the evenings, the traffic backs up a lot at certain intersections and I have this urge to use the bike lane (less than 5 or 10mph) and go up all the way and once it is green, I will get away from all the cars. I am pretty sure this is not right according to the rules, but all I want to know is it okay to do this ?
Does anyone here do this ?

·
Registered
32 Posts
As someone who commutes by bicycle more than by motorcycle, I'd be pretty pissed off at motorcycles in that lane. You'll be moving faster, you're a lot heavier, and there are lots of times I'm getting in that lane after FINALLY getting through a lot of cars, so a guy on a motorcycle suddenly appearing would freak me the heck out. We already to deal with the bike lane being used as a parking lot, dog-walking lane, put-the-trash-out lane and general gutter for broken glass, old bumpers, bottles, cans, roofing nails, used condoms, dead animals and hubcaps :)

·
Premium Member
971 Posts
In most states, it is illegal for motor vehicles to use the bike lane. A number of years ago, I was on a bicycle in the bike lane going downhill at about 30. About 100 yds. from a light a guy decided he wanted to do just what you describe - pull from a dead stop into the bike lane - I bounced off the door and landed several yards away, bike was toast. He got written up, I got some nice rash, bruises and a new bike.

With that said, riding on the shoulder is not necessarily illegal, but entails more debris hazards. I have seen cases where highways were backed up and the cops ignored bikes using the shoulders (at a reasonable and prudent speed). At one time, when most bikes were air-cooled, the idea is that bikes were given some allowance in backed up traffic to stay in motion so they wouldn't seize up.

·
Registered
247 Posts