Yamaha R3 Forums banner
1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So as my self-explanatory title says, this is my first time ever plasti dipping and spraying any sort of spray paint cans in general. I know the red and white was a throwback to the older Yamahas, which wasn't too bad of a look, but I really wanted a white and black bike. I didn't want to go for any of the competition that already has black and white cause the r3 is just so dang badass and has a fantastic look. Anyway! Before I get too wordy, say what you may I suppose about my paint job or the color, but I'm pretty happy with it and it's what I want right now. :)
P.s. This pic is of the first only pieces I have painted and pearlized and coated right now. Will post of them as I progress and the final product of my bike!

Attachments

·
Registered
56 Posts
Looks great! Could you tell me where you purchased the pearl white paint? Did it come close to the existing white on the bike and will you add a clear coat so the plastic dip is easier to clean?

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Looks great! Could you tell me where you purchased the pearl white paint? Did it come close to the existing white on the bike and will you add a clear coat so the plastic dip is easier to clean?
I just bought the normal white plasti dip and the plasti dip pearlizer. The pearlizer is a 'top coat' on its own so I didn't feel the need to add a clear coat, but I did purchase everything from dipyourcar.com and my local Ace hardware, plus from the website I bought a 'dip coat' that supposedly coats the dip and helps protect from scratches and smoothes out the dip and brings out the color.