Yamaha R3 Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
Yamaha r3
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hello everyone,
So I'm new to motorcycles and just bought a used 2019 yamaha r3 with only 600 miles on it, its been couple weeks of me having the bike and I love it, however when I start the bike first thing I would get a gas smell that would go away after couple of minutes, I was wondering if this is normal or what would be the issue here?

Thanks,

·
Registered
267 Posts
I've never noticed a gas smell on mine. Is there a chance you're overfilling your gas tank and it's coming out the overflow pipe?

How long does it take to start the bike? I.e. instantly, or does it crank over for a bit?

·
Registered
Yamaha r3
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I've never noticed a gas smell on mine. Is there a chance you're overfilling your gas tank and it's coming out the overflow pipe?

How long does it take to start the bike? I.e. instantly, or does it crank over for a bit?
Thanks for the reply mate,
I have only filled it ( not even full tank) one time so far as I mentioned I only got it couple weeks ago and didn't have long drives.
As far as starting it's normal no cranking , one thing I didn't mention it has an after market slip on exhaust so I'm not sure if that would make the gas smell ?

·
Registered
267 Posts
I've had both a slip on and full exhaust and haven't noticed a smell, but there are a lot of variables. It could be unburnt fuel in the exhaust due to short rides? I'm sure someone will chip in with more suggestions.

·
Registered
540 Posts
I've had both a slip on and full exhaust and haven't noticed a smell, but there are a lot of variables. It could be unburnt fuel in the exhaust due to short rides? I'm sure someone will chip in with more suggestions.
Same here, no gas smells.

·
Registered
136 Posts
I'd say with full exhaust there is quite a bit more smell of fumes compared to stock.