Yamaha R3 Forums banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
489 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This goes out to those with experience racing a Yamaha R3. I've been an active trackday rider/rider coach for about 15 years. I've decided @ 53 years old, that it's time to take it to the next level. I'm joining the CRA (local club racing) in 2023. Mechanically, my R3 is very well set-up for the track. I have done "race rubber", suspension (front & rear), ECU flash, exhaust, clip-ons, blah-blah-blah.... I know that my current OEM bodywork won't make the cut, as I need an oil-containment belly pan. I'm probably doing that over the winter months, as well as all the required safety-wire protocols.

I currently run adapter plates for the OEM pegs- to move them higher, and further back. I'm very happy with the current riding position. I'm considering Woodcraft rear sets, as I've had them in the past (on other bikes). I know that they are designed to "break-away" at the mid-peg during a crash, and act as an extra "slider", to save the bodywork..... Is this just a marketing scam, or does it really work??? If it actually works in practice, I'll most likely pull the trigger on the Woodcraft. Does anyone here have any first hand experience with this????

In my 15 years of track riding, I've only crashed twice (both times on a supermoto, in 2012 :rolleyes:). I'm not chasing championships, or points. I never expect to get my "expert" plates, nor do I expect to be a "front-runner". I'll be 54 years old when I do my first race. I'm hoping to run mid-pack in the novice class, and just have some fun!!!

Any help/guidance/advise will be welcome. I'm going into this with the attitude that "I probably don't know, what I don't know".... I've been a rider coach with a couple different track day organizations. I know enough to know that this a whole other animal compared to track day riding. I'm also going to take my own advise I've given MANY new track day riders, and "leave my ego at the door".