Yamaha R3 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been riding for about 6 months now. As of yet, I think I've done a good job pacing myself. I'm never uncomfortable on the bike and I work steadily to push myself.

About two months ago, I started riding in some twisties. There is one near my house that I rid virtually every other day. However, I'm scared to push myself or the bike any faster (and for reference, I'm not going all that fast, about 25 to 35 mph when speed limit is about 35). Sometimes, I enter a turn a bit quicker than I want (just a bit, like +5mph) and rather than lean more, I find myself braking just enough in the turn to slow down and be comfortable. This is not ideal for a variety of reasons. Any advice on how to carve a little smoother and trust the lean? Any input on how I can keep working my way up?

Additionally, I've been recommended by a few people to try out my bike at a track. This sounds like a super fun way to improve my skills and push myself to go faster, lean more, and work on my lines in an environment where I don't have to be worried about riding off a cliff if I run wide. However, how do I know I'm ready to ride at a track? How do I know if my bike is ready for a track? Are there some courses (under $500) I should look into that will significantly improve my skill set?

In both cases, are there any mods I need to make to my R3 to be safer and better equipped for such riding? My bike and my tires (stock tires) have 2k miles on them. Can I trust these tires at great lean angles?

Any advice is appreciated. If people think 6 months is not enough motorcycle maturity to consider going to a track, please tell me. I like my bike and my skin, not trying to lose either just to go a bit faster.

·
Registered
24 Posts