Yamaha R3 Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi I'm a beginner rider and new to the forums. Got 2020 Yamaha r3 as my first bike last month. Just like many other new r3 owner, I did a lot of research to find the best spot for phone mount on the bike. I saw great DIY tutorials with links and images, those are very elaborative and helpful. It seems that most people go with the option to buy Ram mount X grip, the ball base and M6 separately then assemble them all together and mount on the left of the hand bar. I personally think that's the best spot to mount the phone because it's in a space that is easy to reach and be visible, it won't affect you seeing dashboard and it does not bother the key. The reason I did not go with Ram mount is that I wanted to buy all the needed parts all at once in one order instead of buying all parts separately. Plus I would like to see a mount with the design that even if the phone is not mounted, the handle bar can still look neat and low-profile.
I see other R3 owners use Rokform mount on the right side of handle bar, it looks okay too, but you also have to make some space to fit it.
Finally I found SP connect, which I think is perfect for me:
1617857972857.png
link: Clutch Mount Pro
It comes with M6 screw and that's exactly what I wanted. Actually I placed one order with three things in total:

A phone case to lock your phone on the mount is absolutely needed. I would say the anti-vibration module is also useful because you want to prevent the damage to your phone cam that can be potentially caused by vibration.
I attach some photos of the installation, super easy to install, it only took me 10 minutes.