Yamaha R3 Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone, i'm a newbie rider! I'm 28 and I've only ridden Dirt Bikes over last summer so i feel like i'm a little late to the game. so, i went to the local powersport dealer and fell in love with the R3. proplem is, i wen't to work all excited telling the guys (who have lots of experience riding) what i was going to buy and they all said the same thing...."Do NOT buy a 300 class bike"... "you'll get tired of it after a few months and want to upgrade" "don't waste your money, start on a 650" so after that i was deflated and bummed. i keep watching youtube videos of guys on their R3 and they seem to love it. there's one guy in particular "Chaseontwowheels" did a 'first ride' on the R3 and he loved it... thats coming from a guy who rides an R6 as his everyday bike. i'm just looking for something to tool around town with and take for rides on back county roads. i don't need anything that will break speed records but i hear torque is pretty addictive. so i'm just looking for honest opinions.... is the R3 a bike that you could live with long term (til its paid off ;) )

thanks everyone!

·
Premium Member
971 Posts
First of all, welcome. You've already tilted the playing field by posting on an R3 forum - so most here have been entirely happy with it.

The R3 will NOT: 1) do 150+, at least no one's claimed it so far. 2) cost as much as a bigger bike to buy, maintain or insure, and 3) disappoint

Some of the members have extensive experience on a wide variety of bikes and have really enjoyed the R3. At the end of the day, buy the bike best suited for your budget and what you want to do with it.

·
Registered
2,519 Posts
Welcome to the forum!