Yamaha R3 Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I should start by saying that I have been a long time reader of this forum for awhile now, and I bought my Yamaha R3 end of last season from an original owner who like a lot of people grew out of it quickly.

I did almost every mod possible, lovely bike... lots of fun with it...Zero gravity windscreen, matching brake master cylinder, and revisor... Custom M4 exhaust, blue LED's... Blue grips, shorty levers, all shaved LED lights, tidy tail, etc... etc...

Im also a photographer and I tool some lovely photos which I will enclose.

The bike had 3100 miles on it when it and I almost met my demise about a month a ago.
Some dumb broad pulled directly out of a blind alley way onto the highway where I was going about 40mph, I Only had about 30 feet to slow down, but ultimately hit her car and flipped directly over her vehicle.

I suffered 2 broken legs, a couple cracked ribs, concussion , contusion, etc.... I spent 2 weeks in hospital surgeries and such, and another 2 weeks in a rebab home to learn life without the use of my legs for the time being and for the b=next 4 or 5 months ---- still need another surgery for an ACL repair, but I am home now and I am okay.... no road rash, no brain issues despite lack of helmet (lucky me)

The front of my bike ... most of that plastic, headlights, fairings, etc.... is jacked up, the forks for sheared off, and it looks like I actually in my 2.5 seconds of making a decision of how to crash downshifted, Power Broke with both breaks and hit the Kill switch.... Muscle memory I guess...

Anyhow --- The insurance is gonna total my baby, whom is named Genevieve and I can't bitch too much about the amount as it has a lot of aftermartket parts on it.

They also offered me a "Buyback" for around $750 (Aprox) if I want whats left of the bike.

I like in Wisconsin - half way between Milwaukee and Chicago.