Yamaha R3 Forums banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
321 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok, I know, I'm like an old paw-paw. I don't drive THAT slow, but I don't accelerate fast, although on long stretches I do over the speed limit regularly. My majesty red lined at 8K, if you did much over 6500 you were pushing the speed limit on any road in the USA. I shift my car at like 2000 rpm, my truck at about 2200 or so. I just am so scared to throw a rod on this bike shifting at 7K or higher. I took it on the highway and I was doing 65 at about 6K RPM or so, which would mean in normal commuting I shouldn't need to go above 6K by much, but my question is this, wouldn't it reduce the life of the engine to run it as hard as I see people running their bikes? It can't be good for it. I'm a licensed mechanic and recip engines are bastions of stress due to their nature. I don't know.

·
Registered
155 Posts
I'm no expert but i currently ride an 09 YZF R125 and when i need to go quick (70mph) that thing is constantly being shifted at red line (about 11k) or just a little under and its been fine since 09 so i cant imagine it being a major issue with the R3 i could be wrong though

·
Registered
22 Posts
Yamaha has been making high-revving engines for a while now, and I'm pretty sure they've got the bugs worked out...

• The R3 engine is made using a lot of the tech developed on the R1 and R6. Those power plants have been beat on pretty heavily, and the tech is pretty solid.
  • The R3 power powerband doesn't really start until around 9K, so effectively you are short shifting it at anything lower.
  • The ECU is going to prevent you from doing anything too horrible by overheating or bouncing off the rev limiter. Not saying you can't do damage, but you will have to work at it.
  • Last I checked, Yamaha was rated #1 in reliability by Consumer Reports (at least in the US). They don't make as many engines as Honda, but they still put out enough so that this rating has meaning.