Yamaha R3 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been quoted at $6400 OTD while trading in my V star 250 2013 with 7xxxx miles on it for $2700 while I owe $2800 on it. Blue book value is around $1800. Is it worth it to get the r3 at that price (only dealership I can find with it in stock)? Ive been riding for 4+ years and have had the v star and ninja 250.

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I would be paying the 6400 and getting my v star paid off by them. Thats what I've been thinking too hence why I didnt sign for it. I think the $2700 trade in is good but i figure I might as well pick up a 600/650 if its going to be that much

·
Premium Member
144 Posts
At this point in the season, $5400. OTD with NO trade in would be a reasonable deal. You're underwater on the other bike (owe 2,800 but only worth 1,800), the dealership will take full advantage of you. The dealership is playing it's hand well.

Look at it this way. You trade in your v-star (worth $1800 if you sold it out-right) and still PAY $6400 OTD. right?

So you will pay $6400 + $1800 = $8,200 for a $5,400 bike. BAD DEAL.

Ok, second scenario, you trade in your v-star for $2,700 and they subtract that off your OTD price? (which I doubt). You pay $3,700 for the bike OTD with trade. GOOD DEAL.

The bank has the title for your V-Star right? Or is it a personal loan? If the bank has your title (probably does) the dealership will screw you into a trade-in.

If it's a personal loan (I doubt it is) you can sell the bike and take the $1000. loss. Then go in and negotiate a $5,400 OTD price with no trade in. GOOD DEAL because even with the $1000. loss, you are still only paying $6,400 for the bike (including YOUR $1000. loss).

If the BANK has your title, the dealership will try to screw you. You cant sell the bike outright because, no title. Dealership knows this.

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·