Yamaha R3 Forums banner
1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone,

Some quick background on myself. I am 27, been wanting a bike for many years. I just now came around to feeling fully comfortable with going all in on it. I have limited experience on dirt bikes growing up, and that is about it for 2 wheels.

Last week I took and passed (not that it was hard) the MSF Basic Riders Course. It was a great time, very informative and I got extremely comfortable riding the bike over the two days.

I have been looking for the longest time at the naked bikes, specifically the FZ-07 which I am shamelessly obsessed with as far as looks go. The only thing that concerns me is how good of a beginner bike it could be when considering the power. The bikes I used for the MSF where the bottom line cruisers from Yamaha and honestly for me the power was adequate for what we did in the course. We however, did not go over 35 MPH but the acceleration to 35 was good enough for me... For now any way.

I happened across a thread here about a possible FZ-03 which has me really excited. If that bike is released in the U.S that may very likely be what I end up with. It has the styling I prefer, a little less power to possibly get in trouble with and should cost less than the FZ-07 which is always appealing.

If you made it this far than I have a couple questions about the R3 for you enthusiast. I want to make sure I know what I am getting into, I am usually picky with anything I own and will try to improve the R3's weak areas if possible. This bike may or not be a long term deal, but it will be in my garage for AT LEAST 4 years. So I need to like it.

After watching reviews and comparisons of different entry level bikes I keep hearing about the poor tires, suspension they put on the R3.