Yamaha R3 Forums banner

1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
208 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I have excerpted (and edited for clarity) a handful of things that stood out to me after @Dreadwil showed me this fine work Jesse from @Norton-Motorsports.com produced. Here's the original article. I've linked to all the parts Jesse referred to in the sections where they're appropriate.

I might add, reading his blog in the past (used to be YamahaR3Racing.com), inspired me to write the article on YZF-R3 and SpeedTek aRacer & AF1 or FT ECU, Bazzaz Z-AFM & Z-Fi ft. Full Exhaust Lists. Check it out. I'm no expert.

This experience changed my perception about tuning motors and my definition of “a good tune”. Instead of believing that a good tune is the one with the highest horsepower number on a chart, I now understand that it is more complicated than that. A good tune must take into consideration more info, like where the bike will be used, elevation, climate, fuel, and more importantly, how the bike performs when it’s slightly lean or slightly rich. A good tune is a balance of all of these factors to give as close to optimum performance as often as possible.
[With a full exhaust] you end up with a bike that runs WAY out of the ideal air/fuel ratio range...
...you are better off running the bike bone stock, or with a slip-on exhaust, than installing a full system exhaust without a fuel controller.
...I, and other tuners have seen over and over again, which is the fact that the R3 performs better with the noise restriction silencers installed in the exhaust, and always seems to be down on power with exhausts that are completely unrestricted in the end...[With the baffle-less] CRT version SC Project kinda falls on it’s face compared to the rest above 8000 RPM, even with a custom tune. This is the same thing we saw from the Yoshimura and Akrapovic stainless systems when the baffles were removed.