Yamaha R3 Forums banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
To start, I've been riding for 47 years, starting with a beautiful black/chrome Yamaha 1963 YG1 (80cc) as a commuter in 1974. I've owned several bikes since, including a 73 Kawi Z1, 75 Yamaha XS650 Electric, 04 Aprilia Falco, 79 Kawi KZ 650, a couple Honda dirt bikes, etc... I tend to own one bike at a time, and put a lot of miles on them. I have modified many, and left others stock. So, I did not buy the R3 as a starter bike.

I chose the R3 after searching through dozens of alternatives. I was looking for something light, nimble, easy to ride, attractive, and modern. I wanted to end the constant tuning of carburetors, and wanted a water cooled engine. I was also looking for a new bike, or near new. I am not in the need of a track bike, or something that can drag race a Corvette. I don't ride bikes to be a street terror, I ride for the enjoyment of the weather, countryside, and being in the wind.

I wanted to spend no more than $5K out the door (taxes, registration, etc.. included).

My R3 is a 2017, purchased in 2020 from a dealer. It had 342 miles on it, as the previous owner did not enjoy riding ( so it sat in a garage unused), but had already installed a lowering kit and some other mods that kept it from getting full retail value. I have since removed all of the aftermarket parts and returned it to stock. The only changes I have made to the bike is to remove a couple of fairing stickers, shaved the passenger pegs (machined an extra set of mounts), installed the rear solo fairing, and built a pillion seat bag setup (from a purchased seat spare) for days when I need to carry stuff. Due to my adult weight, I updated the rear shock to the 2019 part (ebay find from a bike with 300 miles on it), and changed fork springs from the stock ,65Kg to .825Kg rate (Traxxon).
Wheel Tire Fuel tank Vehicle Automotive lighting