Yamaha R3 Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys! I am new to riding and just pulled the trigger on a pretty much brand new 2019 R3 with 347 miles. I am located in NJ and just wanted to see if there was anyone else around here and where you all ride. I needed some advice on some mods and gear to get and if the stuff I bought was overkill. I have ridden other bigger displacement bikes before and felt an r3 was the best to start on. I don't intend on selling the r3 since it is my first bike and I am grateful to be in a position where I can keep it if I do decide to upgrade.

Bike already has a rear fender elim kit.

I have bought:
-Dianese leather jacket w/ level 2 pads and back plate $350 for jacket $70 for backplate
-Shoei helmet $420
-Sedici leather gloves $30

I want to buy:
-Toce full exhaust and tune $720
-Frame sliders from TST
-Integrated taillight
-flush side indicators from TST
-r6 throttle tube

Any advice on mods/gear I have gotten and if I should avoid/exchange something? Should I buy boots? Jeans? Gauntlet style gloves? Any and all advice is appreciated.

Attachments

·
Super Moderator
1,108 Posts
Congrats on the new bike. Welcome to the Forum. I'll leave the opinions and advice to the others.

·
Registered
27 Posts
Hey guys! I am new to riding and just pulled the trigger on a pretty much brand new 2019 R3 with 347 miles. I am located in NJ and just wanted to see if there was anyone else around here and where you all ride. I needed some advice on some mods and gear to get and if the stuff I bought was overkill. I have ridden other bigger displacement bikes before and felt an r3 was the best to start on. I don't intend on selling the r3 since it is my first bike and I am grateful to be in a position where I can keep it if I do decide to upgrade.

Bike already has a rear fender elim kit.

I have bought:
-Dianese leather jacket w/ level 2 pads and back plate $350 for jacket $70 for backplate
-Shoei helmet $420