Yamaha R3 Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all I'm a complete beginner rider. I just bought my 2018 R3 2 weeks ago and have been riding pretty much everyday provided nice weather. The bike was pretty new out of the dealership (only 600 miles on the odo) so I don't typically check anything except for fuel before riding.The other day I was on my usual route coming up to a right turn I decided to tackle it with slightly higher speed than usual (I think I ended up doing ~35-40mph instead of doing my normal 20-25). Don't know if I exaggerated this since I didn't look at the speed, but bottom line is I had to lean harder whereas I barely needed an angle normally. I felt pretty good going into the lean, even though it was a little scary, but it felt stable enough at least going through the first 1/3 of the curve, and I was also pretty constant on the throttle (I was rolling on a bit but I don't think it was abrupt). I freaked me out a little when I felt the bike wobble at around the apex. Seemed to me at the time that it came from the rear wheel. I was literally like a quick left-right movement but I didn't stay to figure out whether it would continue if I kept leaning. I ended up reducing the lean and went a little wide over the center line (fortunately no traffic around, and thank the good lord I didn't panic hit the front brake).

I've been thinking that it might just be a little bump on the road that caused this. But it doesn't sit quite right because as I said it was my usual route and my impression on this turn was that the surface was quite good. I wonder if it could've been something I did wrong. I looked at some of the threads in this forum and people say it could be improper handlebar input. I tried to describe the event best I could to maybe get a few advice on how I should've done better. Appreciate any input.

·
Registered
92 Posts