Yamaha R3 Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
321 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
How is everyone? I'm Brandon, a new owner of a 2015 R3. But this isn't just my first sportbike, it's my first bike with a clutch! I've been riding scooters since 2006, my latest is a Yamaha Majesty. I got rear ended at a stoplight and the ensuing damage totaled my bike. I decided to step out of the scooter realm and into something a little more fun. I wound up buying an R3 last Wednesday, and had to drive 240 miles round trip to go get it. I got the color I wanted, mine is blue. The first thing I noticed was the gaudy rear fender. I googled "Yamaha R3 ugly rear fender" and fender-delete kits popped up! :D Apparently I'm not the only one that thinks that!

I'm still trying to get used to it, my bike has I believe about 18 miles on it, 8 of it put by the dealer to test it. I am still getting used to having a clutch but it really didn't take long, it's such a smooth bike. I figured its a 300, the Majesty is a 400, so the Majesty should smoke it. Wow, was I wrong! :eek: I wasn't even CLOSE. This bike will smoke that Majesty 6 ways from Tuesday.

I noticed some complained of inadequate brakes. I squeezed the front brake expecting it to be spongy and I almost went over the handlebars. Not sure where those reviews came from.

That being said, its nice to be here!

·
Registered
161 Posts
Congratulations on the bike and getting the color you want!

A lot of people got rid of the fender (including me) using the one from vagabond. It's got a lower cost, reuses the license plate light, and has neat rubber bumpers to reduce vibration. Currently on sale using a code and they are having a give away to a lucky winner (search for the thread).

·
Registered
717 Posts
Welcome to the madness, Brandon!! Glad you bought the (faster) blue one.
You're right, this thing will smoke the Majesty 7 ways to Thursday!!!!

·
Registered
321 Posts
Discussion Starter #4