Yamaha R3 Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
329 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Greetings all,

I'm a newbie rider, the only experience I have is riding a bicycle so hopefully, that carries over, lol. Taking my time to learn all the ins and outs for the R3 and so far this forum has been great. Will be taking the motorcycle safety course soon to learn all the basics and hopefully from there pass the DMV exam and move forward with picking up my license, the bike, and the gear. Really looking forward to gear shopping as there are so many different styles and brands to choose from which really makes the whole process so much fun as you get a chance to express yourself style-wise.

Really excited to begin this new chapter in life, as said I have little to no experience but from what I've read the R3 seems to be the perfect bike for someone like me who's just starting out and looking to use it as a commuting vehicle as I was trying to find the quickest way to get into the carpool lane without having to make too much of an investment.

Anyhow, trusting the process and hope to be riding soon. Thanks!

·
Registered
329 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
The bike has been a blast since I've brought her home from the dealer. Was super scared to ride her home from the dealer as I didn't want to end up on a youtube fail compilation video but luckily I took it slow and steady and took the back roads from the dealer home so didn't have to deal with too much traffic and it was a weekend so I was a good real world test of things to come.

Since then have done small trips in and around town. Probably the second day did the usual noob thing and took the bike to a large empty parking lot to work on shifting, braking, turning, coming to a stop, taking off from a stop, etc....