Yamaha R3 Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I over-tightened the oil drain plug on my 2019 Yamaha R3 and stripped the thread in the oil pan. I am aware this means I'm an idiot. I have zero mechanical knowledge and, well, these things happen when you don't know what you're doing. (I didn't know what a torque wrench was, or that the service manual specifies all the torques, or that many people even choose to tighten below spec on the oil plug).

I'm not exactly in the position to offer advice, but I couldn't find anything else written about this, so I thought I would share my experience in case it can help someone else in the same situation. Hopefully, someone with more know-how than me can point out what I could have done better. (But please bear in mind I did this in a parking space using a mini tool kit my mother won in a village raffle).

I should maybe mention that the first thing I did was order a new oil pan, oil plug and a couple of crush washers (total cost was less than $100 including delivery, which is like the price of a sandwich here in Zurich). I forgot to order a new oil pan gasket, but the old one is still immaculate. The problem is they're going to take at least a couple of weeks to arrive. So I ordered one of these M12 x 1.5mm Helicoil-style thread repair kits from eBay UK (for about £20 including international delivery), which arrived within a few days:

I've seen YouTube videos of people fitting these to oil pans still installed in the bike/car. I didn't do that for 2 reasons:
  1. I don't have the skill to tap a straight thread at the best of times, let alone while lying under a vehicle.
  2. Drilling out and re-tapping the thread produces a lot of metal debris that I don't want my R3 to eat.
So, I had to take the oil pan off. This was quite time-consuming because I had to remove all the fairings (both sides), the exhaust system and the kickstand in order to remove all the bolts on the oil pan.