Yamaha R3 Forums banner
1 - 20 of 131 Posts

·
Registered
199 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all, I am new to riding and have zero experience. First, while I am excited to ride for the miles savings on my truck and gas savings (daily commute is 80 miles round trip), I am also quite nervous in general and feel a bit intimidated. Of course I am getting mixed reviews from friends on ride on what to get for first bike. The typical being "250 is too small get a 600" or "250 is just fine". I am a bigger guy at 6' 250lbs. I plan to lose another 50lbs by spring though.

I love the look of the R3 and it appears to be reasonably priced for a new bike. But it is too impractical for a first bike? I feel it is safe to assume I will dump my first bike several times as I gain experience. In which case spending $5k seems a bit much. Maybe an older 250 for a couple grand is better? Money isn't that much of an issue really. But still. Maybe I am over thinking it. Also, I am from MN and it gets VERY hot in the summer and we have limited riding season cuase winter sucks. The thought of wearing full gear sounds miserable. No? I have seen people wear everything from full gear to no helmet, shorts and flip flops.. LOL. I suppose it all depends on your personal risk factor.

Anyway, let me know your thoughts. For now, I plan to take the written test in the next couple days. I am also doing an online course and plan to do rider academy in the April.

Thanks!

·
Registered
1,515 Posts
Because of your size, I would say the R3 is too small for you.
I would recommend you look for a used Ninja 650. You can pick them up fairly cheap, and they are good to learn on.

·
Registered
2,519 Posts
I once did a track day with a guy around 220 lbs on an R3. Not sure why everyone thinks a 250 or 321 is small for them. I myself weigh 155ish full leather so the bike does not struggle as much as with a bigger guy. A smaller/older 250 would be fine. Get proficient on it and move on if you want to.