Yamaha R3 Forums banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Has anyone here plasti dipped their R3? Or any bike at all? I'm in the process of changing my 15' Raven to a matte army green. So far, the bike looks beautiful. Lots of imperfections but this is my first time dipping anything and you really have to try to seek them out to notice. I can say this... I will never go through this process again lol. I took all the fairings off to make sure every piece a nice even coat and had more detail. Getting the fairings off was semi-easy. But putting them back on... was a like taking a 1000 piece jig-saw puzzle and putting it back together. This is my first bike ever, so I took it as a lesson to learn the bike a bit more, both inside and out. I should be completely finished with it in about 2 days.
But I'm curious if anyone else has ever tried this out before.

Attachments

·
Registered
82 Posts
Has anyone here plasti dipped their R3? Or any bike at all? I'm in the process of changing my 15' Raven to a matte army green. .
That looks flipping sweet man! I'm a fan of older bikes in OD green but that looks sick on your R3.:)

Jay

·
Registered
218 Posts
Plasti dipped my red R3. Did a bunch of pieces red and white to cover up a bulk of the black. It was my first time using the product, but I thought it was pretty user friendly. It may not match 100%, but i'll gladly sacrifice some quality for the flexibilty of it vs spraypaint or something permanent

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Here is the finished product. Very proud of my work but like I said, I will never do this again. The sun was being bipolar but I snapped a few pics. I'm debating wether I should keep the red accents, change the color, or get rid it completely.

Attachments

·
Registered
346 Posts