Yamaha R3 Forums banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys,

I heard about those quick shifters, that supposedly help to shift gear without clutch.

What do you think about them? are they good?

If so, can you suggest one for the R3?

I'm still a rookie on my bike, i thought this could make things easier :D

Thanks

·
Registered
196 Posts
Hey guys,

I heard about those quick shifters, that supposedly help to shift gear without clutch.

What do you think about them? are they good?

If so, can you suggest one for the R3?

I'm still a rookie on my bike, i thought this could make things easier :D

Thanks
They are for racing, not street.

·
Registered
49 Posts
Here's my take, riding with any sort of electronic aid takes away from your skillset. Let's say you learn to ride on a bike with traction control, anti lock brakes, shift assist, etc, you will come to rely on those aids and when you have to ride something without them you will be in trouble. If you are a rookie, investing in your skills is an investment that stays with you no matter what bike you are riding. Buying hardware for your bike is not a recoverable investment. For less than you pay for a quickshifter, you can take Lee Parks Total Control Advanced Rider Course. I have personally witnessed people walk up to Lee and tell them this course saved their lives. If this particular course is not available in your area seek some sort of training above the MSF basic rider course. My wife and l will do at least one training session every year, even repeating stuff we have already done. Track day riding schools can be intimidating to new riders, look for one that is offering a specific "rookie day" if you decide to do a track day. The beauty of Lee Parks course is that it is taught in a parking lot at about 20mph. You are never more than 40 feet from an instructor and you are the center of their attention while you are doing the exercises.

·
Registered
856 Posts