Yamaha R3 Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Ive got almost 300 km on the bike and the last two rides I had noticed that the engine doesnt run as smooth as it did before. Especially at anything below 5000 rpm. Before the engine would just purr, super smooth. Its not awful now by anymeans, just not as smooth as it was. I was stopped at a light for quite a long time probably 2 min before it changed and when i took off it was right back to normal, maybe slightly better. Anyone have any input as to what might be going on?

·
Registered
27 Posts
i'm no expert by any stretch of the imagination but have you been using a different fuel brand or octane? oil? loose plug?
just my .02.
Hope you figure it out.

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Well, Ive only put fuel in it once since Ive had it and I changed the oil at 30 Km because I do the more agressive break in procedure. I bought the oil when I picked up the bike and the dealer gave me 20w40 which I though was a little on the heavy side. But thats what they say it calls for. Not sure what is in it from the factory. Like I said, its not a night and day difference. I only really noticed it because of how super smooth it was running after sitting at that light for what seemed like forever. I had ridden about 15 km prior to stopping.

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 · (Edited)
Thats the other thing, a complete oil and filter change was less that 2 quarts. Maybe I didnt let it drain long enough? I put in 2 quarts, let it run for a minute or so shut it down, waited another minute then checked the level it it was high. Had to drain some out. It looked good. Tonight after my ride I parked it and checked it again and it looks a little high again (about 1/8" well above the full mark). Bike is as level as it can be so maybe still have too much.

·
Premium Member
465 Posts