Yamaha R3 Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I had my first race with the Norcal Moto Series Challenge in Dixon, CA last Sunday. The event was held at Kinsmen Kart Club, a small but awesome and technical track. There were about 14 different race classes ranging from mini moto pocket bikes to 250-450cc expert. The small Kayo Cup bikes were out in force with some incredibly fast kids running as fast if not faster then some of the expert adults! I entered the 230cc beginner class with my R3 in street form, lights taped up with Pirelli Rosso II's.
The experience was fun and very challenging. I had a hard time finding consistency on the track and made a lot of mistakes. However as a beginner, I mainly focused on enjoying myself and pushing within my comfort zone. At least until qualifying where I tried to latch onto a faster rider and keep pace for as long as possible. That was fun. I learned some better lines and found that I could brake a bit later and carry a bit more speed.
A small racing series like the Norcal Moto Challenge is awesome and I am so thankful that I have a local series that introduced me to racing. It is very low pressure, fun and a great intro to racing. The event staff was very friendly and helpful. All the fellow racers were also friendly and helpful. Just an all around good time with good racing!
With more track time, better riding technique and a bit more confidence I feel I could really push myself on the R3. I am now really interested in racing and will sign up for a membership with AFM so I can take the New Racer class. In the meantime, I'll be doing track days and slowly converting my street R3 to a race bike.

Attachments

·
Registered
169 Posts
I'm pretty sure CA has some racing schools, they teach you how to take corners, best lines, body position, speed, trail braking etc. may be of interest for you.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·