Yamaha R3 Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi. I'm brand new to racing and to riding anything smaller than my CBR600RR. I have a new R3 still in the break-in period that I want to set up to race AFM.

I'm not a crazy fast rider. In fact, I see the times you guys are getting on the R3s and wonder how the heck you're getting those! :) , but I want to get the most out of my R3. (Did I see someone won with a 2:06 at THill?).

Now that you've raced them with the upgrades you've done, do you wish you had done anything differently?

Where should I begin assuming I don't have the budget to do everything right now?

How did you break it in? Some say gently for the first 1k. Some say ride it like you race it after the first 200 and oil change.

The R3 sits very upright - did you change that or leave it?

AFM #967

·
Premium Member
971 Posts
I see this is your first post - welcome.
Lots of questions there, so you may want to take a look at some of the established threads to bring yourself up to speed.
Most have done the typical race mods: Crash diet, brake lines, bodywork, clip-ons, rearsets and suspension upgrades.
No budget? - you probably shouldn't be racing.>:D

http://www.r3-forums.com/forum/289-...yamaha-r3-faq-how-mega-thread-read-first.html

·
Registered
424 Posts
Make sure you check your local racing rules for the class you will be racing in, there's no use spending thousands on suspension if you need to retain stock suspension.
As for break in period, I normally break it in gently. I won't have a chance to do a gentle break in on my r3 so I'll be riding it like its stolen throughout the break in.
Clipons and rearsets will change the upright positioning to a more sporting position- once again... Download the rules for the class you intend to race, they can be extremely restrictive in the mods allowed.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·