Yamaha R3 Forums banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
116 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I got some saddlebags because I don't like the tail bag for daily riding. My legs are short and it's hard to throw a leg over with the tail bag. So I got Nelson Rigg bags. They were not stable because there's no frame or anything on a sportbike to support the bottom of the bags. So I did the same thing I did to my Ninja 650R a long time ago. Got some aluminum flat bar and made some guards I guess you'd call them. They were too low, so I attached 3 inch piece wide ABS plastic to the bar. The bags now are stable and fit good. I know it doesn't look the best, but hey, it's not a Harley. It doesn't have to look pretty :)

Reactions: Omnislug

·
Registered
2,519 Posts
I've never used saddle bags before. Does the Velcro really belong outside on the passenger seat or is it supposed to be inside and under the seat?

·
Registered
507 Posts
It doesn't look half bad with the bags on there, nice work! I've tried putting them on both on top of of the seat and under, they are more stable underneath but it can be hard to fit the seat back on, at least with my bike.

·
Registered
116 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I've never used saddle bags before. Does the Velcro really belong outside on the passenger seat or is it supposed to be inside and under the seat?
You can put them over or under the seat, but I've always had them over.

·
Registered
116 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
I had the problem of one bag moving down and the other moving up if the weight in each bag is not close to equal. So I glued velcro to the bags and the white plastic. Maybe I'll get some pics of that in the next day or two.

·
Registered
116 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Here's a photo of the velcro on the plastic pieces. I forgot to take pics of the velcro on the bags before I put them on. And was too lazy to remove them after I had them fitted. They fit great now and do not move.

·
Registered
542 Posts