Yamaha R3 Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey so I’m getting to a loss on my bike .
I took it to the car was and as far as I know it was working fine , parked it and 2 hours later I go drive home and my brake lights turn signals and horn don’t work. The 15 amp signalling circuit fuse will blow immediately when I turn on the ignition.
It still runs and drives as normal so the only thing affected is this circuit.
I am an electrician so I pulled up a wiring diagram and redrew it with only that circuit to make it easier to look at , and one by one disconnected everything .
Horn switch , turn signals , license plate light , auxiliary light , brake lights switches . And it’s still blowing immediately. Doing a continuity test I can see that the 2 brown wires coming off the one side of that fuse are shorting to ground . I can’t see anything obviously pinched and I don’t see how something would all the sudden get pinched anyway .
So what I’m getting at , is the two things I am concerned about is on the diagram I can see one brown wire coming off of fuse goes to a connection with 2 other browns and that goes to the brake light switches , I can’t find any connectors with 3 browns into it.
And the other brown coming off of fuse goes to a connection with 2 blues , a brown/red/ and one other brown. I also can’t find any connectors with 2 browns 2 blues and a brown red . So I’m thinking my issue will be in one of those connections .
Instead of having to rip the whole wiring harness apart searching for those , does anybody have an idea of where they might be .
Sorry I know it’s an extensive write up but I have tried everything

·
Registered
107 Posts