Yamaha R3 Forums banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
234 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
The first thing I noticed back in April when I bought my R3 was the big air gap between the solo cover and the tail section; it was, and has been very difficult to get it to latch as well. Many have complained here about the gap and the trouble with latching the cover. During a 265 mile ride a few weeks ago, with a big problem trying to latch the solo cover after lunch (putting wallet back), even using both hands in a "CPR" thrust, it just didn't want to latch. It finally did, but the rest of the ride I kept reaching back to see if it was still there.

Okay, the next day I studied the latch mechanism and the solo cover brackets, and arrived at a solution that we can all do for free in about 30 minutes. I lowered the rear of the solo cover down to about half a millimeter above the tail section. Here is the "before"shot showing the gap, and the "after" shot; I didn't want the cover to rub my expensive Colorite paint off the tail section, hence the.5mm lift.

Step 1. Remove the cover and remove the three phillips screws that hold the latch plate in place. (I re-purposed the tool pouch holding location for my bug cleaner kit).
Step 2. Remove the rubber bumpers from the bracket by carefully pushing in the conical posts through the holes.
Step 3. With a razor blade, slice off the three rings from the bumpers; this is about half the thickness. I cut off 4.5mm thickness from mine.

At this point, take the latch plate and place it on the bike as if it were attached to the cover. The nuts holding the latch mechanism to the bike's frame are in the way of the plate, so the plate needs to be filed for clearance.

Step 4. With a file or dremel, remove just enough metal to allow the plate to sit down around the nuts. My work is indicated here with the blue tape next to the filing: