Yamaha R3 Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Im no mechanic. Im wanted to order a front and rear sprocket for my bike. don't know how to tell how many teeth I need or should have on the front and rear. I just do street riding and occasional day at a track. so nothing crazy. link to what i was looking at.

Driven 520 Chain and Sprocket Kit Yamaha YZF-R3 15-20

tips and suggestions walcome.

·
Registered
14 Posts
Yamaha R3’s stock chain sprocket size is 14T front, 43T rear, 112links 520 pitch, and sticking to company ratios are recommended as long as you are not a hardcore track rider, or a tourer.. only thing is the oem chain is O-ring based but try to go with better X-ring ones, they are better and last longer..

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
90 Posts
Your options are:
-Stock gearing with decent acceleration and top speed
-Gear for top speed at the expense of acceleration
-Gear for acceleration at the expense of top speed

Unless you are using the moto for track duty exclusively, where you spend the vast majority of your time at high RPM, you are likely best staying with the stock gearing and instead spend your money on stickier tires or lightweight sprockets and/or hardware. Either will have a larger impact on the handling and perceived power of the bike while maintaining its versatility.

Check out this link for additional info regarding how different gearing schemes will effect your top speed and acceleration. Gearing Commander ⚙

·
Registered
9 Posts
I'm a little late to this thread (just joined the forum), but I'm currently working out what gearing to run on my new R3 (I just made a post about this, actually). There are a lot of factors involved, but for me, the main goal is to reduce average cruising-speed engine RPM by as much as possible without losing the ability to pull that speed up hills. The idea is to theoretically increase the long term durability of the motor by a bit.