Yamaha R3 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Edit: MotoJitsu has a video on a ZX6R that basically has similar limitation which means the problem is, as I thought - me.

I was pretty confident on this bike especially after a month long road/camp trip over the entirety of NZ. Riding >1 year, >20 hours professional training on bike, >40,000km (~25,000mi), >250km on gravel with road tires, been in all conditions; thunderstorms, riding through clouds with visor icing over, hailstorms, intense fog, etc. - compared to most people it's not much, but also not a complete beginner but starting to feel like one again. I can soon sit my full license test and this is a problem I've now put in the way, whereas I could have effortlessly passed before.

I had vortex rearsets and clipons put on. I'm 6'5 and just don't fit the bike so went with a best effort service. I absolutely love the way it feels now - when at speed and cornering at speed in particular. No, I don't want an R6 or R1, I love this bike and want to learn the correct technique instead, and yes it will never fit correctly.

What I'm after here is the correct technique for doing a U-Turn with limited steering. Both from complete stop into 180 degree turn and from moving into 180 degree turn. Wouldn't mind tips on low speed cornering too; should I be getting used to leaning at low speed and where the limit lies between the angle and the momentum?

I think this is an issue with me and not the bike. The bike has simply been too easy to ride without it. Filing the steering stop and increasing the steering limit is an option but I would rather improve as a rider under this limitation before doing that instead.