Yamaha R3 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Super Moderator
1,069 Posts
Probably easier to remove the panels. I've had no reason to replace my throttle cable... But, you may try removing the ends of the cable from the throttle and engine.. then taping the new cable to the old. Overlap the ends a few inches, and tape over the ends so it's not too bulky, but will stay together while you pull it through. I'd probably tape this from the bottom, while leaving the new cable resting on the ground, and pulling the old cable upwards from the throttle. Just be sure to stop pulling when you get close, so you don't loose the bottom end into the fairings... It's easier to pull a cable than it is to push one.

·
Registered
540 Posts
Discussion Starter #5 (Edited)
We all know im a terrible mechanic. Which is probably why it snapped in the first place(zero throttle free play.) Ive never had this happen before either, and have no idea how to replace it. dont even know for sure if its the cable, but bought a used cable anyway.. Install pending.

·
Super Moderator
1,069 Posts
Sorry for the problems you're having. I'm not sure I'd recommend doing this if you're uncomfortable at all. Any problems with a sticking, or uneven throttle throw could really be dangerous.

·
Registered
540 Posts
Discussion Starter #9 (Edited)
Sorry for the problems you're having. I'm not sure I'd recommend doing this if you're uncomfortable at all. Any problems with a sticking, or uneven throttle throw could really be dangerous.
Thanks my dood! Dont worry, problems is my middle name.. Max Problems Pressure. Sling warned me about my throttle free play. I made a meme about it. Im never comfortable working on my bike broo, but i must make this happen. Plus, im back on my meds, and my Mom thinks I can do it.👍

·
Registered
27 Posts