Yamaha R3 Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Like I said in the title I am looking for tips from you guys on how to wash my R3. I know that sounds like a stupid question but I am brand new to riding and I just got my break in service done. What I'm looking for are the dos and don'ts, types of cleaners to use or not use, parts of the bike that shouldn't get wet. That kind of stuff.

Thanks guys!

·
Registered
222 Posts
I use water from a garden hose and only wash what's dirty which usually isn't much....up under the fenders, chain, sprockets, lower parts of the bike. I keep my bikes in pristine condition and if you get water up inside the nether parts of the bike, you get water stains as a minimum. If I get some oil around such as on the wheels or lower fairing, I do use a microfiber cloth with some Royal Purple degreaser/cleaner first, but that's not good for the chain they say. You also need to dry and re-oil the chain. To assist in the drying process, I have a MetroVac which blows warm air and helps remove water from from the fasteners, chain, sprocket, and other places it hides. Then I ride the bike to dry it out some more, then let it set in the sun to dry some more before oiling the chain and polishing the bike with Plexus. I often use more cloth and even Q-tips to clean away water spots up inside the bike. My number one secret to cleaning a bike, is to not ride it in the rain or mud to begin with. I have got stuck in rain a few times and to be honest, it takes me an couple hours to get the bike clean and back the way I want it.

·
Registered
717 Posts
X2 on the plexus plastic polish! Love that stuff for my bikes and helmets. Makes bug removal, after the fact, quick and painless. And X2 on the rain riding. It'll get crud in places you din't know existed. Also, if it's been awhile since your last clean, S100 is an awesome pre-cleaner spray to cut thick grime. Again, don't forget to lube your chain.

·
Registered