Yamaha R3 Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
365 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
HI,

So I am relatively new to track day riding.

2016 Was my first year

and 2017 is my 2nd season.

Initially, the coaches said, dont mess with the rear brake

When did you start? What situations? How do you prevent the rear brake from locking up?

·
Registered
424 Posts
Trail braking doesn't have to include the use of the rear brake. I started trail braking after about 6months at the track and it slowly improved to where I was braking much harder and deeper in to the corner (more than you think is possible when you start). All of my trail braking has been done with the front brake only.
I'm trying to add the rear brake in to my riding at the moment but it's still very early days

·
Registered
169 Posts
Generally I've found that when I brake hard enough into a corner, my rear wheel will have almost no traction, then during the turn in I just use the front. I don't ever seem to use rear.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
2,519 Posts
I also don't ever use the rear. I am not sure when I learned to trail brake but I definitely use that skill more and more now on the track.

·
Registered
148 Posts
My trail braking came from riding the mountains. I used to use the rear all the time to help settle out the bike, but as I got faster I moved to only using the fronts and braking deep into the turn. This is one thing that has helped me immensely on the little bike due to the ability to carry speed. Now I need to work on my body positioning and mental game lol! They warn about the rear every track day I've been to and the one guy that defended it almost went down in front of me when he locked the rear of his SV.

·
Registered
36 Posts
The only time I have ever used the rear brake on a track is when I blew the right hand turn at Little Tally and went through the grass. I used both front and rear to get slowed down enough to safely return back to the track.

·
Registered