Yamaha R3 Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys,

So first a disclaimer. I don't know anything about motorcycles. I just bought a 2015 Yamaha R3 second hand last month to begin on. I've been riding it almost every day since. Maybe this noise is normal (although I don't think so) and I just never noticed it before? I rode the bike less than 24 hours ago and didn't notice this noise. I just rode it about an hour ago and filmed this video. Some weird hissing noise that sounds loudest near the radiator (beginning of video) but also seems like it might be coming from the area that I'm pointing to towards the end of the video. Any ideas? Again I am brand new to motorcycles so I apologize if this ends up being something stupid.

Video:
https://photos.app.goo.gl/X2sJm3CxYK5PUTV56

·
Registered
243 Posts
The first area you pointed to towards the end is the vicinity of the clutch. The clutch has straight-cut spur gears driven from the crankshaft inside the engine. Straight-cut gears are not silent in operation. The second area you pointed to is the vicinity of the tensioner for the timing chain. The timing chain is, well, a chain. They're not silent, either.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
The first area you pointed to towards the end is the vicinity of the clutch. The clutch has straight-cut spur gears driven from the crankshaft inside the engine. Straight-cut gears are not silent in operation. The second area you pointed to is the vicinity of the tensioner for the timing chain. The timing chain is, well, a chain. They're not silent, either.