Yamaha R3 Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

I’m very new to riding, just received my M2 which allows me to start practicing on roads and highways. I’m loving it so far!

Just a quick question on positioning when turning left. On a 2 lane highway, when turning left, do most of you ride in the left tire track before turning? Or do you ride in the center to block cars from passing you before you make the turn?

I’ve noticed that even though it’s a single lane cars will try and pass you on the right to keep going, which I do too while driving in my car, so I’m wondering if this is a blocking scenario or not. I mean I don’t want cars to run into me while blocking, but I also don’t want cars taking the lane and risking them hitting me that way.

I hope I explained this properly, I would like to hear how others handle this.

Thanks,
Rob

·
Registered
15 Posts
If you don't want to get hit, make yourself as small as possible and as easily passable as possible. If the driver isn't paying attention, you don't want to be in the middle of the lane and have them turn you into a road crayon. Hug the yellow line so they can get past you easily. Also, if you hug the yellow line and the driver isn't paying attention, they can easily swerve a bit to the right at the last second to avoid you.

·
Registered
70 Posts
Or do you ride in the center to block cars from passing you before you make the turn?
Just a reminder, every vehicle that you see has the engine in the center, so the center of the road is where you'll find everyone's coolant leaks, engine oil leaks, transmission fluid leaks, etc. I try to avoid the center of the road as much as possible.